pearlessence

"Why then the world's mine oyster, which I with sword will open."

Fabove.ca Review

8 Comments

I took another leap of faith just over a week ago and made an order online off Fabove.ca. I could only find one (somewhat) reliable review in a post on a forum about ordering from Fabove that seemed genuine. After reading through some of the information on their website, I decided to order the Clarisonic Mia 2 from Fabove for $149.95 CAD, as Sephora only carried the Mia at about $139 CAD (which, by the way, is available on Fabove for $119.95 CAD). For a mere $10 more, why wouldn’t I want an upgraded version that had an extra speed setting, included a protective travel case, and came with a warranty twice as long?

Here’s my haul:

From left to right:

  1. FITI Babii Nano-Ceramic Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron – 3/4″
  2. Tweezerman folding ilashcomb
  3. Clarisonic Mia 2 Sonic Skin Cleansing System

Fabove is a Canadian distributor of beauty products located in Vancouver, BC. They mostly feature hair products, with makeup, skincare, and a health and home section. They offer free shipping within Canada for purchases over $100 CAD and to the United States for purchases over $150 CAD. If you live nearby, you can pick up your items in person so you don’t have to pay for shipping. Fabove also ships internationally at a flat rate for orders under 2 lbs or 1 kg. For overweight or oversized orders, Fabove encourages customers to contact them for an accurate estimation prior to finalizing the order.

What really impressed me with Fabove is the amount of follow-up they do for your order – customer service seems impeccable. Because my shipping and billing information did not match, a representative called the billing number to confirm that I did indeed place the order. They left a message at my billing number, and I was asked to call Fabove to confirm that I had placed the order and that they could process it. When I called to confirm, I was also told that if I wanted them to call an alternate number, I could leave them a note under the Special Instructions text box while placing my order

Fabove requested Canada Post to provide updates on the progress of my shipment. I received emails for when the order was accepted, when the order was shipped, when the delivery was attempted, and when the shipment was actually delivered and picked up by the recipient. I was pleasantly surprised that they had taken the consideration to do so – normally I would have to keep a tab open on my browser and refresh the Canada Post page in order to track my items.

All in all, my first experience with Fabove.ca has been a positive one, and I would not hesitate to make another order.

Here is my Clarisonic Mia 2, available in white and pink:

The Clarisonic Mia 2 comes with a brush head for sensitive skin, charger, protective travel case, and a trial-size cleanser. It operates at two speeds and has a one-minute timer to help guide the longevity of your cleansing routine. The Mia 2 also comes with a two-year warranty. It is not compatible with the original Clarisonic charger. Clarisonic has been around for a number of years, but I had never felt the urge to try it out until recently, especially since it was initially only available in the US. I do want to see for myself whether or not the Clarisonic deserves the ravings of the community, or whether it really is just a glorified vibrating brush. As with every product, there are always mixed reviews.

Fabove has a limited time offer for any purchase of the Clarisonic Classic, Plus, Mia, Mia 2, or Opal System where you can add a FITI Babii Styling Iron to your order for just $1 CAD! Check it out:

The 3/4″ FITI Babii Nano-Ceramic Tourmaline Styling Iron is priced at $120 CAD, according to Fabove, who offers it for $45 CAD. It is definitely smaller than your conventional flat iron, but at $1 for a fully functional hair straightener, who cares?! Considering the fact that I have seen ones that are smaller than the length of my hand retail for around $40-50 at the mall, this is more than a steal. Fabove is also offering this iron for $1 for a limited time if you purchase any other straightener priced at $100 or more. If you need a straightener or a Clarisonic, grab it now and pick up this gem along the way, whether for yourself or as a gift.

And last but not least, here is the Tweezerman ilashcomb:

I have read product reviews that rave about the ilashcomb endlessly – how it makes any crappy mascara look amazing, how it works beautifully, how it helps give you defined, separated lashes, and how it doesn’t even compare to the plastic eyelash combs that don’t even work. And I have to agree, I hate those things. They suck. So every time I walked by the Tweezerman section of any store, my eyes scanned items frantically for this comb, to no avail. I believe it is only available in stores in the US. Imagine my surprise when I noticed that Fabove stocked the ilashcomb. I couldn’t help myself – I ordered one for $11.95 CAD. Pricey for an eyelash comb, but if it lasts me forever, and it works, who cares?

The teeth of the ilashcomb are sharp, gold-plated metal points. This thing is dangerous. If you are going to use this comb, make sure you use a mirror and that you won’t start if your pet suddenly jumps in your lap, or startle when your child sneaks up on you. Perfect lashes are not worth losing an eye over.

The comb folds over so that you can toss it in your makeup bag without it scratching anything else, and to protect the teeth of the comb from being bent. I like being able to take my favourite tools and products everywhere, so this is definitely a plus. Can’t wait to try this out, either. Apparently it does take quite some effort and time, especially since you want to be very careful holding this thing anywhere near your face. I have poked myself in the eye (many times) with the mascara wand before; I don’t want to be poking myself in the eye with this thing.

We’ll see if it’s really worth the extra effort. Maybe just on special occasions.

(Image source: fabove.ca)

Author: pearlessence

She who loves shopping, baking, gaming, and all things Disney! All on a student's meager budget :)

8 thoughts on “Fabove.ca Review

  1. Ohhhh you got the Mia2! Review soon? I would love to know how it works for you before I make the commitment of throwing so much money on it! And $1 for the flat iron? That’s such a huge steal!

  2. I went the cheap route and got Olay’s face brush but I like it and it works great.

  3. How do you like your iron so far?

  4. Pingback: 3/4″ FITI Babii Nano-Ceramic Tourmaline Styling Iron Review | pearlessence

Share your thoughts!

