pearlessence

"Why then the world's mine oyster, which I with sword will open."

Lancome Galatee Confort Review

Leave a comment

So I hauled the Lancome Galatee Confort last weekend along with a 7-piece GWP. I feel that I’ve used it enough to make a judgement call.

Lancome’s Galatee Confort is indicated as a comforting milky cream cleanser for dry skin. The description follows as:

This emollient-rich, milky cream cleanser gently removes makeup and impurities. Contains honey and sweet almond seen extracts for clean, soft, comforted skin.

Gently smooth over entire face and throat. Rinse away, tissue off or remove using warm washcloth. Follow with Tonique Confort for soft, velvety skin.

The lady at the Sears Lancome counter assured me that it would remove makeup. She even asked if I wore foundation (and when I told her I used BB cream, she identified it as a tinted moisturizer) and said that the Galatee Confort would remove my face makeup after I’d taken off my eye makeup with eye makeup remover. She did advise me to use the Gel/Creme Radiance cleanser, formulated for all skin types, once in a while for a nice deep thorough cleansing. That cleanser was really more for normal/combination skin though, so I didn’t feel the need to purchase another cleanser if this one did its job.

The good: I love the smell of Galatee Confort. It smells very light and clean, reminiscent of the smell of SebaMed products, which I’d had around the apartment back in Hong Kong when I was a toddler. It’s a milky cleanser that is very velvety and glides easily along your skin. After cleansing, my face feels soft and there is no sensation of dryness or tightness. There was no irritation to my sensitive skin, either. I always wet my face before applying cleansers and rinse off with water.

The bad: The Galatee Confort does not remove makeup. I tried taking off my BB cream with this cleanser, and after I had rinsed it off, my face felt as if there was a layer of face cream on it. I didn’t dare to pay my face dry with my towel, so I grabbed some tissue and wiped at my cheek. Lo and behold, the colour of the BB cream was easily visible on the tissue. The BB cream was still residual all over my face. I had to cleanse with my Clinique Liquid Facial Soap in the mild formulation afterwards, and the tissue-in had left my sensitive skin red.  I tried again the next time with a bigger pump of Galatee Confort and a more thorough rubbing of my face, which only made my skin all red again. I still managed to tissue off colour. I haven’t tried wiping off the cleanser with a washcloth, but I really don’t want to risk makeup stains on my white facecloth. And if you have sensitive skin like I do, you wouldn’t want to be scrubbing at your face in order to get makeup off anyway. The cleanser you use should do the job.

The ugly: $38.50 CAD for a expensive brand-name (LANCOME!) product that doesn’t deliver what it promises to? Are you kidding me? We’re not talking about fixing challenging problems like dark circles or wrinkles, just a simple cleanser.

All in all, the Galatee Confort is a gentle cleanser, but too “gentle” to effectively remove face makeup. The only plus is the nice smell, but that’s a really personal preference. And for those of you who aren’t a big fan of mineral oil, it’s the second ingredient listed, followed only by water. I would only use this on a bare face or as a morning cleanser. But my Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser would do just as well, and I can get a 1L bottle for about $20 CAD at Costco.

For shame.

Author: pearlessence

She who loves shopping, baking, gaming, and all things Disney! All on a student's meager budget :)

Share your thoughts!

